US puts Nigeria on religious freedom blacklist along with China, Saudi Arabia

US Secretary Mike Pompeo

The United States of America has included Nigeria on the blacklist of religious freedom violations. This is the first time that Nigeria is put on the list along with countries like Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

According to US law, nations put on the blacklist must make improvements or face sanctions including losses of US government assistance. However, the administration can waive such actions.

In his statement on Twitter, he said "Today the U.S. designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations."

He added that "The U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act."

Nigeria has been in the news because of the actions of the likes of Boko Haram which has caused deaths and sufferings of many people in the nation. 

In its report earlier in the year, the US state department expressed its concern about Nigeria, citing the killing and mass detention of member of the Islamic movement in Nigeria, the passage of a a bill in Kaduna state to regulate religious preaching and more

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post