Christian Journalists Back Buhari’s Anti-Corruption Campaign

In line with the anti-corruption drive by President Muhammadu Buhari-led government, the Nigerian Association of Christian Journalists (NACJ) is set to reward a few Nigerians for their sterling demonstration of integrity in public life. The association’s Secretary-General, Mr. Charles Okai, said that “integrity is a direct opposite of corruption, which is why our Annual Integrity Award, which has been a yearly event, since 2013, is aimed at remaking governance for public good, especially in the interest of the greatest majority – including workers, students, tax-payers and honest voters.”

Read why he said rewarding Nigerians is necessary and more after the cut...
He said that the award was designed to encourage Nigerians to be integrity conscious and shun corruption, chiefly now that the country was facing the ugly effects of corruption occasioned by a few dishonest elements in government.

This year’s event tagged, “Integrity Is Everything”, is scheduled to hold at Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja Lagos, this weekend.

The Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Nigerian Electricity Regulation Commission, Dr. Sam Amadi, who is one of the recipients of the Integrity Award, is expected to give the keynote address, on the subject: “Integrity, Essential for Building a Virile Nation”. Others to be rewarded include, Dr. T.O.E. Ekechi, the Founder and Chairman, Board of TOE and Associates Limited, who will receive Professional Integrity Award, Barrister Allen Onyema, who is the Chairman of Air Peace Nigeria Limited, Rev. Tony Akinyemi of Shepherd Flock International Church, who would be conferred with Integrity Award for Spiritual Leadership, while, Babatunde Wilkey, Chairman/Chief Executive Officer, Meat Embassy Company, will be rewarded with Integrity Award for Quality Services. Those to be honoured for professionalism are Mrs. Bisi Deji-Folutile, Editor, Saturday Punch newspaper and Mr. Ademola Adeoye, Manager News, NTA, who will both receive Ambassadorial Award for Professionalism. For Corporate Integrity, it will be Dr. Bembo Victor, who’s the Chairman of Mediplan Healthcare and Services, while Integrity Award for Grassroots Politics will go to Hon. Omotayo Oduntan, Deputy Chief Whip, Lagos State House of Assembly.

The Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG), Mr. Tunde Ogunsakin, will grace the occasion as Special Guest of Honour, and as the Integrity Man of the Year 2013/2014.

Culled from

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post